General English

The Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) is a guideline used to describe achievements of learners of foreign languages across Europe and, increasingly, in other countries.

The CEFR together with the Association of Language Testers in Europe (ALTE) founded by Cambridge University divide learners into six levels. These six reference levels (see below) are widely accepted as the European standard for grading an individual’s language proficiency.

Chart of Equivalent Levels

IEC English Language Programme

Being aware of the demand from our students to acquire English language skills as quickly as possible, we amended the world-leading Headway programme published by Oxford University through adapting it to the circumstances and particularities of ESOL learners in Mozambique. Through the use of state of the art didactic techniques and teaching facilities as well as qualified and experienced teachers our students are now capable of achieving their learning goals in the minimum stipulated time.

Level Description

The Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) describes what a learner is supposed to be able to do in reading, listening, speaking and writing at each level.

General English Executive Programme

To ensure maximum teaching impact and learning progress without missing lessons due to work commitments we offer Executive courses. In a most personalised course, one teacher is assigned to only one student to deal with his particular training needs.

Please contact us for further information or ask for the GELC Executive info sheet.